karldmoore development

A development oriented blog, containing anything I've been working on, reading or thinking about.

  • Subscribe

  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Disclaimer

    The opinions expressed here are my own and are not necessarily shared by my employer, any other organization, or any other individual. Any trademarked names or labels used in this blog remain the property of their respective trademark owners. No guarantees are made regarding the accuracy or usefulness of content on this blog, though every effort is made to be accurate.
  • Meta

Fun with Grails

Posted by karldmoore on July 19, 2009

Anyone that has been following @karldmoore on Twitter will have seen the numerous tweets recently about Grails. I first started looking at Grails back in 2006? after a recommendation from a work colleague. It looked quite interesting and I managed to hack together something quite simple but it was a little hard work in places to get what I wanted out of it. It was early days for the project however and it looked very promising.

I’ve since recommended it several times to other people who were interested in building applications new applications. Most of the this feedback has been extremely positive so I’ve managed to get around to having another look at it recently. After @snaglepus suggested I check out Build twitter in Grails in 40 minutes (registration is required) I have to say I was very impressed. Since watching that I’ve gone from knowing absolutely nothing about Grails (three years it too long to keep information in memory) to building a sample application very quickly. After finding plug-ins for many of the tasks I wanted, I’ve implemented the logic I need and let the tool do the rest of the heavy lifting work which led to a very productive evening of coding.

I really love it when you find technology which just seems to work and does exactly what you expect it to do. There is still much I want to learn about Grails and I’m sure there are many other tips and tricks I can pick up along the way. At the minute I’m just looking through the many Grails books to find a winner and I think I have in The Definitive Guide to Grails, Second Edition. If you haven’t looked at Grails before, I really recommend you check it out and see what it can do for you. And if you aren’t following me on Twitter, I’m @karldmoore and I’m sure there will be a few more tweets about Grails ;-).

Leave a Reply

 
